Frostbite in summer

I just recently went to a camp. It’s summer where I’m at now, so it gets very hot during the afternoons. Now, the campsite is just beside Goulburn River. On the first day, I wanted to go down to the river to cool off, but unlike the rivers in Malaysia, this river was so cold that after a few seconds of standing in the river, my feet is in pain and I have to get out. Once I’m out, my feet start to turn red, because the blood vessels in my feet have dilated (become bigger) so that more blood flows to my feet to warm them up.

While I’m struggling to keep my feet in the river for more than a few seconds, people are floating down the river in life jackets and floats. A couple have their chair in the river, one of them even pushing the chair further into the river so that her whole body is submerged. Some creative people are floating down the river on air mattresses. One of them has a dog, that is swimming in the river next to its owner.

I can’t help but wonder, if we stay too long in the river, would we get frostbite? Water leaches out body heat faster than air. It’d be interesting if someone stayed too long in the water and ended up with frostbite. Like how people get sunburns if they stay too long in the sun. Imagine the newsletter heading if that happened.

‘SWIMMER GETS FROSTBITE IN SUMMER’

Swimming in the river would never be the same again.

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is light and easy reading, with unique thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

