Distractions, the bane of works in progress

This works on many things, but in this case, I’m focussing on writing. Story writing.

If you really think about it, writing a story is really easy. All you do is write one word, then write another one after it, and another one, until you reach the end, where most people would put a full stop. You’ll get a story, just not necessarily a good one.

Now the problem starts when you can’t put down the next word. Then you can’t finish the story. This is what most people usually term ‘writer’s block’. I get that now and then, but usually, the main thing stopping me from putting the next word down isn’t usually because I don’t know what to write next, it’s usually because there’s something more interesting to do.

Like watching a movie.

Or playing a game.

Or reading someone else’s story. And at the end of it I’ll admire the fact that they actually finished their story.

Then there’s always uni. And exams. It looks really bad if I’m writing stories when I’m supposed to be stuffing facts into my head. Especially if my grades come out less than ideal.

So yeah. Besides that, the only real thing stopping me from completing my stories or posting more often is distractions. Procrastination. Sort of same thing.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

