Hyperbola

Some people have a way with words. They’ll take a bite out of a cheesecake and start waxing lyrical about how awesome and wonderful the cheesecake is and OMG this is the best cheesecake eva. I don’t know how that do that. It’s embarrassing to say out loud, even if it crosses my mind. And sometimes (most of the time), despite the words, the cheesecake is merely above average. Certainly not that mind-bogglingly sensational cake their words would lead us to think. And I wonder. If an above average cake garners so much praise, wouldn’t they run out of words by the time they try to praise a truly awesome cake?

Because think about it, people say “that’s the best curry I’ve ever had” or “this book is THE most awesome book in the world” so often, it starts to lose its effect. Really. How would you praise a book that’s more awesome than ‘THE most awesome book in the world’?

I believe in stating things as it is. If the cake is good, I’ll say it’s good. If it’s ok, I’ll say it’s ok. I’ve yet to use wonderful as an adjective when expressing my opinions unless I’m being sarcastic. However, I’ve learnt that most people aren’t used to that, and saying that something’s ok is like saying that it’s bad, but I don’t want to hurt your feelings. I’m also learning to be more generous with my compliments, since people can’t read my mind or read my actions. The saying ‘actions speak louder than words’ probably didn’t take into account the fact that most people don’t notice people’s actions, especially the tiny ones.

Posted on February 5, 2012, in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That sounds familiar….

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

