Project Melan: Hoarding ideas

When it comes to ideas, I hoard.

I still have my student diary from secondary school, where I jotted down my ideas during the weekly forty-minute school assembly. I also have pieces of lecture notes, where I scribbled down ideas when something in the lesson sparked something.

There aren’t many people who would like living with a hoarder. Imagine waking every day to this disaster before you even walk out the door.

But, you can be a compulsive idea hoarder and no one would care because the only space getting cluttered would be your laptop. Unless you record your ideas on paper, like I did, then you’d still need to keep things neat and tidy. Which is why I try to transform my scraps of ideas into electronic form.

Why hoard ideas?

I’ve been working on Melan for three years now, and the current version I’m working on is version 3-ish. I still keep my older versions and deleted scenes, and these remnants have helped me as I work on the latest version of Melan. It’s easier to find a sub-par scene to work on than face a blank page when looking for ideas.

Sure, not every idea is a gold mine, but enough gold nuggets scattered around could melt down into a single gold ingot.

Melan progress: climax completed. Working through bridging chapter to start the next arc.

Posted on November 12, 2015, in Project Melan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

