Reading VS writing

Reading is so much easier than writing.

I recently found a new Chinese novel series, and I’ve been reading at a slow and comfortable pace of one book a day. Partly because I still need to do other things like eat and talk to people, also because it has some elements of horror which is fine in the morning but a thousand times creepier in the middle of the night, but mostly because if I don’t stop at one book a day I’ll just blitz through all sixteen books in a few days without sleeping when I should.

因与聿案簿录

The eight books in the original series. And despite the fact that it’s a Chinese series written by a Taiwanese author, the titles have Japanese hiragana beside it. Just another reason why people think all Asians are the same.

That’s not something I can say with my writing.

I am now at my fastest writing pace in five years: roughly one chapter a week.

And I haven’t touched my own story since I started this series.

If pressed, I can say that I’ve been doing research. Which I kinda am. As I go through the series, a part of me keeps track of elements that attract me and the scenes that linger in my mind. Hopefully, I’ll be able to weave what I’ve ‘learnt’ into my own tales.

It’s a lot more effort to put words on a blank page than taking in a story that has already been penned by someone else. But whenever I see what someone else has done, it drives me back to my own project.

Because it’s a lot more effort to write than read, but the story I write is actually mine.

Posted on January 13, 2016, in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

