What’s this blog about?

why-blog

I signed up for WordPress’ Blogging 101 a while back, and by the time I noticed their emails, I’ve already missed a week’s worth of ‘assignments’. Well, it’s time to catch up.

Day one’s exercise is to do a little self introduction for my blog, guided by a few prompts.

  • Why am I blogging publicly instead of keeping a diary?

Writing is something I’ve been doing for a very long time as a hobby, but I’d like to do something with it. Whatever the plan, blogging is a good start. It’s very good for accountability. Because I can stop writing my own diary any time without any consequences, but online, the evidence is there, and things released online aren’t always easy to retrieve.

  • What topics do I think I’ll write about?

That’s… hard. I can be pretty random, and the posts reflect that. Among tales of new experiences and dreams of the future, there’s stuff like a snail’s anus and soundtracks.

But, if I have to narrow them down (which I’m kinda doing by reorganising my tags as per my February goals for this blog), I’ll have posts about writing, some stories from fantasy and from real life, and maybe reflections that would make people go ‘huh, never thought of it that way before’.

  • Who would I love to connect with via my blog?

Other writers would be good, since I hardly know anyone around me who writes fiction. A community that writes my kind of genre would be especially nice.

Readers are awesome too. Most stories are meant to be read by someone other than the author. Readers that give feedback are even better, because that’s how authors grow, and it’s always nice to know that someone out there thinks ‘you don’t suck’.

Mentors would be even better, because other than knowing I want to turn writing into a career, I have no idea what I’m doing.

  • If I blog successfully throughout the next year, what do I hope to accomplish?

Well, a writing habit for one thing. These posts don’t grow themselves. A reputation would be nice. If this blog can turn into my portfolio that would be even more awesome. I don’t need to create another one for job interviews. Half the effort, twice the results.

 

That’s it for now. One down, seven (or more) more to go.

Posted on February 20, 2016, in Blog diary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great introduction, I tend to post pretty randomly too! I hope you find the audience you’re looking for and grow your blog how you want! 🙂 xo

  2. I am glad I am not the only one behind. I appreciate you clear and simple answer to the questions. This is helping me write by first assignment that I am behind on. Thank you

  1. Pingback: February goals for Logical Dreams: progress check | logicaldreams

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

