Drabble: One or the Other

Strictly speaking, a drabble should be about 100 words. “One or the other” is longer than that. I started this drabbles as a writing exercise for myself with two rules.

First, no names. (Kidsnatcher is a nickname, so it barely squeaks in).

Second, has to fit within one page of an F5 exercise book.

Hope you enjoy this not-quite drabble 🙂

Genre: fantasy, tragedy

 

~One or the other~

The blade sinks easily into exposed flesh. A quiet gasp is the only sound he makes as he sinks to the ground. I fall with him to my knees. My fingers stay wrapped around the hilt of my blade.

“I win,” I say.

“I lose.” The edges of his body blurs into small dots of lights. “And now I disappear.”

The lights float above us in a leisurely stroll towards the sky until they wink out of existence.

“Are you ready?” he asks.

“I have to be. Too late to turn back.”

His legs are gone, and so are our swords. He lifts his fading hand to my face. The hand disappears even as he runs his thumb over my cheek. I swallow a sob. I won. I should be happy.

“All the best, other me,” he says as he fades away.

“I’ll miss you, other me.”

I open my eyes to the ceiling of my room. For a moment, I wait for his customary greeting from the back of my mind.

All I get is silence.

~End~

Posted on February 26, 2016, in Short Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

