Did you know that goats don’t have round pupils?

I’ve always assumed that all eyes were variations on the same design: round eyes with round pupils, like this picture.

cartoon-313457_960_720

Then yesterday, for the first time, I realised that goat pupils aren’t round.

They’re rectangular.

Hard to believe? Here’s a picture.

goat-eye

That’s pretty much the point of the post. Unless you want to know how I found out about this crazy pupils, then by all means, read on.

I recently finished Gravity Falls, a cartoon series where characters come face-to-face with strange creatures, like gnomes that puke rainbows and a talking triangle. And what I usually do after I finish a show is to head over to its TV Tropes page and explore the tropes/clichés used during the show.

So I read through the pages, learn some new things and hidden details that I haven’t noticed before, then I come across a point on how the people who worked on the show did their research. To illustrate this point, it was pointed out that the goat (which was something like a pet and a running gag) that appears throughout the series was drawn accurately with rectangular pupils.

While watching the series, I did notice that the goat looked weird. But this was a cartoon series. Everyone looked weird. I just assumed it was animation quirk and moved on. It was only until after someone pointed out that this was how goat eyes looked like that I actually looked at the goat again.

Once again, reality reminds us that it’s not boring.

Truth is stranger than fiction indeed.

 

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Biology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

