Drabble: Character Issues

20160429_110536[1]

“You mean everything I knew about myself was a lie?”

“Things change. But you’ll be better this way.”

“I sound like a wimp. Give me back my muscles. And my guns.”

“You’ll get them later in the story.”

“I had them in the beginning when you first created me.”

“Yes, but you’re the main character. You’re supposed to grow with the story, not start out amazing.”

“I liked it better when I was amazing.”

“You’ll be amazing again.”

“If you actually finish the book. Which you never will.”

“I’ll finish it one day.”

“No, you won’t. And if you won’t make me awesome, I’ll find someone who will.”

The space cowboy hopped onto the window sill and leapt out the window. Once the cowboy left, his creator groaned and dropped his head on the table. His flatmate peered into the room.

“Everything alright?”

“My main character just ditched me.”

“That space cowboy again?”

“Yeah. He’s such a pain. When he comes back, I’m going to write him into his worst nightmare.”

“Which is?”

“Don’t know yet.” The aspiring writer straightened and slapped his hand against the tabletop. “But it’s going to be the most embarrassing thing I can think of. He’ll never run away from me again.”

“… I don’t think it works that way.”

The writer just cackled into the air.

The flatmate sighed and closed the door.

~End~

 

Genre: meta

Posted on April 29, 2016, in Short Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

