A day at Hanging Rock

Not long ago, I went to Melbourne’s “Hanging Rock” (also formally known as “Mount Diogenes”). Someone told me that it used to be a volcano, and Professor Wikipedia says that it’s a mamelon (which sounds like spikes of lava-turned-rock). But that’s not important. The important part is that it’s a pretty interesting place to hike.

Most hiking trails have fixed paths. Hikers choose one route, and walk along it for how ever long they want. Hanging Rock also has that, but it also has a lot of interesting side paths formed by the many rock structures. Just looking at it gets the writer part of me reaching for stories of hidden organisations and secret meetings. It’s a cool place to be, even if it can be pretty dangerous.

Didn’t take any pictures, which in hindsight is a bit of a missed opportunity, but also a sign of how much the area interested me. It isn’t everyday that I get the chance to basically map out my own obstacle course. How far can I go? Would I be able to get back if I take the jump over to that next rock? Is it stable enough for me to put my weight on it?

The area also doesn’t fence up a lot of areas. So I could actually climb the rocks at the summit. But it was really cold that day, and at the top of the rocks, there’s nothing else to protect me from the crazy strong wind. I would have liked to go higher, but the wind was strong enough to actually push me over, and slipping off the rock wouldn’t be a nice way to finish off a social gathering.

After this, I have a better understanding of why people like mountain¬†climbing. It can be dangerous, but there’s also the thrill of exploration that can be hard to find on trails where the path is set and everything has been fenced off.

Just… no selfies on the edge. Free falling is the fastest way down, but I’m sure climbing down can be fun too.

 

Posted on May 4, 2016, in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

