Fetus Problems

I took a few classes in anatomy in uni where I learnt a lot of very practical stuff (how can I not? It’s about this human body I use day in day out). Part of the syllabus was learning the many, many ways fetal development could go wrong.

They range from not too bad (having the heart on the right instead of the left), to deadly (not having a brain at all. It’s pretty gruesome picture).

Then I look at myself, and I have no such problems. I (and many others in the world) have dodged all kinds of these dangers before we were even born. It’s like an untold epic battle of survival, right in our mothers’ womb.

For some of us, the victory isn’t as flawless, with battle scars that can be life threatening, superficial, or just downright bizarre. But even if we’re missing limbs or have extra limbs, we’re still alive, and technology is on the quest to fix everything and anything.

What’s the point of this post?

I don’t really know, to be honest. It’s just something that struck me while I was in class looking at all the different ways my body could have betrayed me.

Posted on May 9, 2016, in Blessings, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

