Three tips on how to tackle 30 writing prompts in a month

Not long ago, I wrote 30 stories in a month as part of my July goal. (Check out the prompt masterlist here.) If you are also planning to do something similar, here are some tips that could help you.

 

1. Start with the easy ones

In an exam, I will always finish off the easier questions before tackling the harder ones. Knowing that I have most of the exam done makes it easier and safer for me to dwell longer on the harder questions.

Writing stories day in day out works the same way too. Rather than starting from the top of the list and working my way down, I just scanned the list for words that jumped out to me and went with whatever caught my attention.

 

2. Build on previous stories

I’ve always been a fan of standalone stories that can also be pieced together to tell a greater narrative. So as I was going through the prompts, day after day, there were times where a story I had written would spark an idea for something that could be written with another prompt. That’s how I ended up with a few clusters of short stories featuring the same characters. Some may consider it cheating. I call it being pragmatic.

 

3. Start the day/night before

By tackling the easier prompts first, it also meant that towards the end of the month, I was left the prompts that really didn’t spark anything for me. The last week or so was particularly challenging. And the last was the worst of them all. But just because I couldn’t think of an idea straightaway didn’t mean I could ditch it.

So what I did was choose one word and brainstorm. No notes. Just juggling the idea around in my head and trying out a few possibilities. Before bed, I would note down anything I thought of, but continue thinking about it as I slept. The brainstorming session continued the next day, but by then, the foundations of the story has already been laid down. Throughout the day, little by little, I pieced together a story that I could post on the blog.

 

That said, what kept me going throughout the month were the likes that readers left behind with almost every post I made. Knowing that people appreciate what I had created was a great motivational boost. So if you’re a reader, be generous with your opinions. If you’re a writer, treasure those feedback.

That’s it from me. Hope this helps you tackle your own challenges and all the best 🙂

Posted on July 31, 2016, in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

