NaNoWriMo Day 1

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a challenge where writers around the aim to write 50k words in November (30 days). A common way to break 50k words down into more manageable daily chunks is to use the formula 50 000 words/30 days = 1667 words/day.

I don’t do that. Not because I want to be different, but because I know there will be days where I can’t write a word, either because of writer’s block or because life gets in the way. Instead, I go by a combination of these two formulae:

50 000/20 = 2500 words/day + 10 off days
50 000/25 = 2000 words/day + 5 off days

My goal every day is to write between 2k to 2.5k words, which would give me more leeway to take breaks during the month if I need it. Just in case, it would also be great if I can write about 500 words even on the ‘off days’. Anything to buffer the bad days when I can’t put anything on paper.

That’s it for day 1 of NaNoWriMo. I happened to have a day off today, but still couldn’t hit 2.5k. Not great. But I did hit 2k, so not a bad start.

Sigh. If I only I can count this blog in my word count.

 

Today’s word count: 2147

 

Posted on November 1, 2016, in 2016, Project Melan, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

