NaNoWriMo Day 4

A lot of people plan to participate in NaNoWriMo weeks and months ahead. I was not one of those people. Simply put, I completely forgot it existed, but when I found out NaNoWriMo was coming up, I just didn’t want to wait another year to go for it.

The result is that I’ve stepped into this 50k word challenge with little to no plans on what to write. Having no carefully thought out plan doesn’t mean that I’ll definitely fail, but it does mean that I have to approach this challenge a little differently.

Instead of writing the story linearly (A –> B –> C –> D), I’m writing scenes that pop into my mind first, in no particular order. I only have the bare bones of what I want to write? I’ll just write those bare bones first. As I write out the scene, I get ideas of what I want to write next or make references to incidents that I will need to write before. So every scene I write spawns another idea or two for me to work on, and I slowly flesh out the story and increase my word count at the same time.

It’s day 4 of NaNoWriMo, and this system has been working pretty well for me. I hope my scenes will continue to spawn more scenes.

If you find yourself getting writer’s block, you can try writing ahead to your climax or turning point. That might give you some ideas of what information you need to foreshadow in the scenes leading up to the important points in your story.

 

Today’s word count: 2153
Total word count: 6485

Posted on November 4, 2016, in 2016, Project Melan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

