NaNoWriMo Day 9

I thought I had plenty of free time to write.

I underestimated how long it would take me to put down words.

In the past, I was one of those students who started working on assignments with a few weeks to go to the deadline. Not because I was hardworking, but because I know I’m the kind of person who likes taking breaks. Some people can sit for eight hours straight and churn out pages and pages of work. I am not one of those people.

Given a chunk of time, I’ll jot down some ideas, check out something else, come back to flesh out some sentences, scroll through some pictures, add more details, play a bit, return to continue the scene, etc. It’s a routine I’m comfortable with, but it also means I waste a lot of time. At the rate I’m going, according to my NaNoWriMo stats, I’ll only reach 50k sometime in mid December.

Something needs to change.

Today was a full day out for me, so I didn’t have the luxury to work my way slowly towards my 2k+ goal. Instead, I wrote in little sprints. One sentence when I woke up, a few words after breakfast, as many pages as I could on the train, little bits and pieces throughout the day. When I came back, I had accumulated 400+ words written on stolen time. Which wasn’t as much as I thought, so before I sleep, I’m squeezing in more. I would have liked to at least hit 1k, but it’s past midnight.

Tomorrow, I’ll need to focus on finishing my assignments. Hopefully, I can switch in between that and my writing as if I’m ‘taking breaks’ on one side while working on the other for extra productivity.

Or maybe I’ll end up procrastinating on both sides. We’ll see.

 

Today’s word count: 765
Total word count: 10735

Posted on November 10, 2016, in 2016, Project Melan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Isabel Caves

Poetry, Fiction & Photography

Shawn Writes Stuff

Not necessarily well, but here we are.

Little Wee Stories

Very short stories to delight and entertain

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Skruulraken's Words

The blog of works by Connor R. Ryan.

