Short Story: The Secret I Hide

I was born with one brown eye and one black one. The brown eye sees things as they are, and although the black one does not always see the things in front of me, it can see much more.

It sees the past.

For my own safety, my ability is kept secret from everyone else. Even within the police force, where I offer my sight in the missing persons unit, it’s information only given on a need-to-know basis. That is, if they pass Uncle James’ very thorough check.

Some of my relatives know, simply from watching me growing up. But it’s been years since I blurted out the things I saw. How many of them still remember?

And if we’re keeping my own extended family out of the loop, then that goes doubly so for my friends. As much as we enjoy our time together, things change. People come and go, friendships grow cold or sour, and secrets have a tendency to escape eventually.

So my black eye, the one thing that has shaped me more than anything else, is the one thing I hide. Sometimes, I wonder, if I’m hiding so much of myself, what’s left for people to befriend?

“Eli, stop daydreaming and help us pick a movie. Also, I picked mushroom pizza with cheesy crust for you. If you have any objections, you should have said it before we confirmed the order.”

Jenny pulls me out of my thoughts figuratively and literally, dragging me over to the table where the rental DVDs have been laid out. Everyone shifts easily to include me in their circle.

I can’t help but smile.

Throwing my melancholy thoughts aside, I join the quest to choose a movie for the night.

~End~

 

Genre: slice of life

Leave a comment